Travelling to Italy with layover in Frankfurt, Germany

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 24th, 2011, 07:42 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

My first flight is within the US so I'm not concerned about it but my second one is from Philadelphia to Frankfurt operated by US Airways. Then my connecting flight to Italy is operated by British Midland Airways. This is my first time out of the United States and I would just like to know how everything is going to work. What do I do when I get off of the airplane in Germany? Am I going to know where to go? Should I ask somebody on the plane to help me navigate?(stewardess?) Do I need to get my luggage and check it again because it's a different airline? I wish I could just take carry-on but I'm staying for a few weeks and it wouldn't be possible! I would appreciate A TON of information because I'm terrified!
Old Jul 24th, 2011, 07:50 PM

No need to be terrified. Airports in Germany work just as they do in the US; in the case of Frankfurt, probably more efficiently.

First, check your bags through to your final destination.

When you exit the plane follow the crowd and look for signs for transiting passengers. Look for the displays that give departure information for your next flight. You will probably have to go through passport control and then through security again to get to your departure gate for Italy.

It is so easy you'll wonder why you worried. Just remember...if you can find your gate in Philadelphia you will be able to find your gate in Frankfurt.
Old Jul 24th, 2011, 07:56 PM

BTW - if for some reason you cannot check your bags through to Italy then reclaim them at baggage claim, go through security, and then find your gate.
Old Jul 24th, 2011, 08:00 PM
Original Poster