Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Travelling to Cotswolds from Edinburgh (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/travelling-to-cotswolds-from-edinburgh-877013/)

navas_am Feb 8th, 2011 03:17 AM

Travelling to Cotswolds from Edinburgh

Hi folks,
I'm a newbie to the forum but was reading thru' various postings for the last one week. I'm travelling to UK in June for 8-days vacation with my family- wife and 2 kids (9 & 3 years old girls). First three days will be spend in London and then travelling to Edinburgh to attend my MBA graduation ceremony. We want to spend a night at any of the Cotswolds village for a night and planning to visit on our way back from Edinburgh to London. It is much appreciated if someone could advise us the best way to do this. My plan is to fly by easyjet from Edinburgh to Bristol (£38 p.p) and then take a cab or bus or rent a car to the stayplace at Cotswolds.
Could you please recommend some nice picturesque Cotswolds village, easily accessible from Bristol and good (but economical) B&B/ cottage?
The next day we plan to get back to London.
Thanks in advance

Lifeman Feb 8th, 2011 04:42 AM

You'll struggle to find a cottage rental for just one night. To take a cab from Bristol Airport will be horrendously expensive to somewhere like Stow on the Wold, which is 70 miles away. I'd guess that it would cost around £2-£3 per mile.

I'd rent the car, visit Stow and then leave the car by arrangement somewhere outside of central London to avoid the congestion charge.(At the airport if you're heading straight back home).

flanneruk Feb 8th, 2011 05:31 AM

There's no direct public transport from any airport to any Cotswold town small enough to interest you. A prebooked local car from the nearest airport is typically £80-90 each way, though public transport into London is about £20-£25.