Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   travelling by train in italy (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/travelling-by-train-in-italy-675919/)

sasha_g Feb 1st, 2007 07:54 PM

travelling by train in italy

Hi,
travelling to Italy in April for 2 weeks. Plan to travel within the country by train. Need to know if i need to buy tickets beforehand (through trenitalia website), or can i buy them at the station just before travelling from Point A to Point B.
Or is it worth picking up a Eurail Pass and then pay for reservations (a bit expensive, though).
Also, when visiting the Trenitalia site & trying to book tickets, they show a lot of fare options (e.g. flexi, standard, duoununo, etc.) if i can book tickets online, then which fare should i choose?

a lot of questions, i know - but needed some clarity. this is my first time in italy, and hence need some guidance.

thanks,
ciao
:)

STUMBLEBUM Feb 1st, 2007 11:24 PM

I don't know about the rail passes, but getting tickets at the station is no problem. Trains are cheap, though to avoid fines on the train, before you board, look for small yellow boxes on the wall etc on the platform. Stick your ticket in the slot to validate it, otherwise a 5 euro fine applies (i know from experience!) The trains I travelled on were a bit untidy (take some tissue if you will need to use the toilet on board. They were however very quick and consistantly on time.

GeoffHamer Feb 2nd, 2007 12:49 AM

Italian train fares, like those in most European countries, are calculated from the distance. Therefore, to decide whether a rail pass is worth getting, you need to know which journeys you will be making and look up the fares for those journeys.