Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Travelling Around Western Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/travelling-around-western-europe-537158/)

kel2202 Jun 16th, 2005 04:30 AM

Travelling Around Western Europe

Hi,
Just came across this website by chance, I need some advice as I am relatively new to this 'travelling thing!' I route is as follows; Barcelona, Valencia, Rome, Florence, Ferrara, Venice, Salzburg, Vienna, Prague then Berlin. I am going by train up Italy and into Austria and onto Prague then Berlin. Where do I find information on trains? Can i go by train from Venice to Salzburg? How long will these journeys be? Do I pre-book them? Is it really expsensive? Please help me! Thanks Kelly

rex Jun 16th, 2005 04:41 AM

Hi, and welcome to the forum... I see that you are brand new here - - how do I know that (besides what you say about your own "newness"?) - - click on your own name. This is a valuable tip that Fodors fails to give you when they send you that initial e-mail confirming your registration.

You'll find that some (many?) people here will cringe at your itinerary - - but I'll give you the benefit of the doubt, that you have 30-45 days for this itinerary?

And perhaps you have had soe help in planning this already - - you seem knowledgeable enough, for example, to habve planned open jaw air travel to/from Barcelona/Berlin...

... does this also mean that someone has helped you find transportation choices for Valencia->Rome? there are several, and one place to start is www.whichbudget.com

Much of the rest of this travel (by train, especially in Italy) will be cheapest if you simply wait to get to Italy to buy it all. Search for "GAC" here on this forum, and look for message threads about how many of these routes can be traveled for only 15 euro.