Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Traveling solo to France, Switzerland, Amsterdam...advice please (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/traveling-solo-to-france-switzerland-amsterdam-advice-please-427411/)

uberdirk41 Sep 5th, 2008 02:33 AM

Traveling solo to France, Switzerland, Amsterdam...advice please

Hello,

I am new here and apologize if this in the wrong forum. I am studying abroad in Athens, however I really have not bonded with any of the people so it looks like I will be traveling solo. This is a daunting task, so I was hoping maybe someone could give me some advice. We have a long break in October from the 23rd to Nov. 2nd. I was roughly planning to visit Paris, Amsterdam, and either Geneva or Zurich (although if anyone has any modified suggestions, please let me know). So I already have a Eurorail Flexipass (good for 10 days). I know flying to the destination country is a must from Athens. I was thinking of maybe flying from Athens to Paris. Then after Paris taking the train to Amsterdam, then after Amsterdam taking the train to Zurich or Geneva, then the train back to Paris where I would fly out of (bc flights thus far seem cheaper from Paris to Athens than Amsterdam and Switzerland). I know it seems odd going in a triangle like that, but in my head it seemed to make sense. I guess I'm curious if this is a lucid idea to anyone else. Please let me know if I'm missing something, like you can't take the train to one of the places or the eurorail pass can't be used, ect. Also if anyone knows of any cheap hotels/hostels, or has any ideas on how to improve/modify/implement this please let me know, I would greatly appreciate it. I'm a little hesitant about traveling solo, but I refuse to not enjoy Europe because I don't like the other students here.

Thanks so much

afterall Sep 5th, 2008 02:50 AM

Hello,