Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Traveling from Geneva: Cinque Terre or Portofino? (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/traveling-from-geneva-cinque-terre-or-portofino-931540/)

Christine_Chung Apr 15th, 2012 06:21 PM

Traveling from Geneva: Cinque Terre or Portofino?

Hi, I have 3 days to visit the Italian Riviera and was wondering if I should go to Portofino or Cinque Terre. I'm a photographer and need advice as to what area is best to go to considering what the easier travel route from Geneva is and which place would give me more photo opportunities.

Also, any suggestions as to getting from the Italian Riviera to Geneva by train is helpful! Thanks so much!

zeppole Apr 16th, 2012 04:31 AM

If you mean Geneva, Switzerland and not Genova, Italy, you should put up a separate thread tagged Switzerland.

There are so many photos of both le Cinque Terre and Portofino online, I recommend you look at them online and decide for yourself. if you want a hidden fisherman's cove or a view from cliffs to the sea. But remember if that your 3 days are in the summer, or include weekends, you will have a very hard time taking photographs of these picturesque places that are not filled with tourists (especially in Portofino). You will need to get up at dawn.

If you want to go to Portofino, you should stay in Santa Margherita Ligure or Camogli so you can use the trains and buses and boats to visit other places. Portofino is isolated and extremely expensive.