Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

travel to switzerland & Italy by rail for a first time traveller to europe

Aug 31st, 2010, 10:28 AM
Original Poster

i am a consultant physician and am travelling first time to switzerland with my wife. I plan to spend about 6-7 nights in switzerland and about 9-10 nights in Italy. I am planning to move around by rail.
I am planning to travel to Naples from Zermatt Switzerland. How does one take the route with the least changes and what passes would be useful. I am planning to take a swiss pass. Will this help in travelling in all places in Switzerland including the various mountain tops and sight-seeing spots, including the cable car.
I shall be highly obliged if someone please me inform early as that shall make my plans easy
Vijay
Aug 31st, 2010, 10:47 AM

I have had good luck with this site for planning and purchasing tickets.

http://www.bahn.de/i/view/USA/en/index.shtml
Aug 31st, 2010, 10:57 AM

I can't give you advice on Switzerland.
Advising you on which route to take to Italy, depends on the rest of your time in Italy. Are you going only to Naples and South or to other areas of Italy? Where are you departing from? Also, when is your trip?
Aug 31st, 2010, 11:45 AM

The best website for schedules and routes on Swiss trains is the Swiss one, www.sbb.ch (or www.rail.ch for English).

A siwss Pass of some type can significantly reduce the cost of your travel in Switzerland, including on the mountain lifts and railways (generally there is a 50% discount). for 2 of you traveling together, you would get a "Saver" pass which offers a 15% discount.

From Zermatt into Italy you will travel via Milan for the most direct route. this journey takes 3.5 to 4 hours and can be done with only one change (at Visp or Brig) if you pick the right departure time. The Swiss Pass is valid as far as Domodossola (one stop over the border into Italy), so ae sure and show it when you buy a ticket to Milan.