Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Travel Tips and Tricks For Greece and Turkey? (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/travel-tips-and-tricks-for-greece-and-turkey-1703161/)

AJEIV Nov 21st, 2021 04:33 PM

Travel Tips and Tricks For Greece and Turkey?

I am a current college student in the US planning a solo month long trip to Greece and Turkey from mid-May to mid-June 2022. As this is my first solo international trip and first time in Europe/Middle East I have some questions on the logistical and financial aspects of such a trip.
  1. I plan on traveling quite a bit during the trip, and visiting places both on and off the beaten path. For this I almost certainly need a car for the duration of the trip and will cross country lines during the trip. Given renting a car is expensive and given I will be 21 during the trip making renting a car even harder and more expensive, I am assuming renting a car is not a cheap option. I know sometimes people will buy a car upon starting a trip and sell it at the end, which is an option I am also looking into. Given I will be 21, need a car for about a month, and will be crossing country lines during the trip, what are my best options especially if I want to keep costs down?