Reload this Page >

Travel in Spain, Madrid to ???

Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 20th, 1997, 11:14 AM
Joe Giovengo

I am a college student trying to spend a spring break in Spain. How is the best way to travel to places like Salamanca and Avila and Toledo. Bus or Train? Thank you.

Old Oct 22nd, 1997, 10:43 AM
Jim

We took a 5 week trip to Spain,Portugal and Morocco
just this past year. In fact today, October 22, 1996
we were in Madrid for our flight returning stateside
October 23.

No question on the transportation when in Spain and
Portugal. We checked it out thoroughly and the
winner is THE BUS. The schedules are superior to
train and get you to more places (centrally too!).
We traveled to Toledo (our #l site, our opinion),
Segovia (beautiful castle of Queen Isabella),
El Escorial (Palace Monastery of Philip II), Valley
of the Fallen (Franco's tomb/Basilica), Salamanca,
to Viseu, Portugal, Lisbon, Evora, Tavira, back to
Spain to Seville (Beautiful city and Cathedral),
Cordoba (the Mesquita a must see), Granada (The
Alhambra, to the Costa Del Sol and beautiful Nerja,
to Gibraltar to Tarifa (crossing to Morocco where
we used the train...don't go there. Awful place!,
back to Spain to Cadiz back to Toledo (remember our
favorite) to Madrid ALL ON THE BUS. The buses are
cheaper than the trains, more convenient, very com-
fortable and clean (probably like Greyhound in the
30's-'60s in the U. S. ) Have fun! Spain is great..
friendly, prosperous people. Yes, we aren't young,
mid-50's. But if you are young and a party person
that likes to party all night...get ready for Madrid. Never saw anything like it elsewhere in Europe.

Old Oct 22nd, 1997, 02:45 PM
Lori

My husband and I took the train to and from Toledo from Madrid and did just fine. I'm sure that either way will be great.

Old Oct 31st, 1997, 09:10 PM
seamus