Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Transportation from Agrigento to Taormina (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/transportation-from-agrigento-to-taormina-738671/)

THallie Sep 24th, 2007 04:42 PM

Transportation from Agrigento to Taormina

Hello,
I'm new to the message board and would like some advice for my first trip to Sicily. My husband and I will be in Sicily from Feb. 28-March 3 and are looking at traveling from Agrigento to Taormina...what is the best method of transportation for this route? Bus vs. train--and does anyone know how long it takes for either (with stops/changes in trains, buses, etc.) If anyone has a website (in English) where I could look this up, that would be welcome as well!
Thanks so much!
TJH

kja Sep 25th, 2007 08:07 AM

Hi, THallie -
I can't help you with bus schedules, but for the train schedules, you can check:
http://www.trenitalia.com/en/index.html

THallie Sep 25th, 2007 04:06 PM

Thanks, Kja. I found some routes from Agrigento to Taormina via rail...sounds like we will need to transfer at one or 2 spots. Thanks for your help.
THallie

NeoPatrick Sep 25th, 2007 04:36 PM

Probably not the answer you want to hear, but when we first visited Sicily, we planned to take public transporation from Taormina to Siracusa and then to Agrigento. Once we got to Siracusa we found it was really impractical to get to Agrigento by train and/or bus and ended up renting a car to drive one way to Agrigento instead.

THallie Sep 30th, 2007 05:59 AM

Thanks for the information. Do you recall how long it took you to drive from Siracusa to Agrigento? And, how was the drive? Thanks

NeoPatrick Sep 30th, 2007 06:06 AM