Just 5.5 days in Italy,rome or florence?

Old Sep 11th, 2015, 11:13 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Just 5.5 days in Italy,rome or florence?

So I just get about 5.5 days in Italy in December this year(mid-december) , it's my first time in Italy, and certainly wouldn't be my last.
My guess is 5.5 days isn't enough for Rome and Florence.
Now is 5.5 days a bit much for Rome, and would it be better to spend 5.5 days in Siena,Florence and the hilltop towns in Tuscany? Or are the hilltop towns kind of closed in winter?
At the same time I find it a bit sacrilegious to miss Rome on my first visit to Italy.
Old Sep 11th, 2015, 11:35 AM
mrt

5.5 days will be fine for Rome and Florence. When we went, we had 5 days for both places. I would do 2-2.5 in Rome. Rome is a big bustling city but other than the ruins it was not as quaint as Florence. Don't book anything in advance for the first day in case your flight is delayed. You can see all of the major attractions in Rome over 2 days if you are hustling. We went to the Forum, the coliseum, and the Vatican. Unfortunately, we missed the Pantheon. The major ruins are all close by.