Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Train travel from Paris to Civitavecchia - suggestions to save $ & time?

Old Oct 21st, 2011, 01:23 PM
Original Poster

Hello!

I booked a few nights in Paris 10/26-10/29 with the intention of going to Rome to catch a cruise at Civitavecchia port leaving 10/30. I thought the port and train station were much closer together but it looks like I need to take a train to Rome and another to Civitavecchi and now its getting expensive. I'm trying to save $ and time and its my first time there, any options I havent considered?.....

so far:
Option1
overnight train from paris to Rome on Eurorail ($350) but save on hotel for night
train via Italiarail.com from Rome Termini to Civitavecchia ($40)

Option 2
Flight from Paris airport to Rome ($350 plus travel to airport), hotel ($100ish)
train via Italiarail.com from Rome Termini to Civitavecchia ($40)

**I'm wondering is there anything that goes straight to Civitavecchia ?? And is it worth it to buy a metro pass for this to save $?

Thank you!!

Lily
Old Oct 21st, 2011, 01:36 PM

skyscanner.net fly CDG FCO cheap on the euroeconos booked

in advance less hassle than training...

Train Paris Nice Genoa La Spezia Pisa the port

seat61.com for details regional train is cheap hop on.

easyjet.com has flights from CDG but pretty close to your

flight will probably be more than train.

Good luck!
Old Oct 21st, 2011, 01:40 PM

ryanair.com still has $108 one ways fron BVA to CIA non stop

10/29... Book quickly they will crank it up soon easyjet

already has they are 2-3 X as much... Bokem Dano!
Old Oct 21st, 2011, 02:10 PM

seat61.com for details regional train is cheap hop on>

regional train from Paris to rome to c'vachia? First of all they do not exist and if they did it would take about a week