Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Train from Orvieto to Rome-can anyone confirm that AVIS is located at or very close to the train station?

Train from Orvieto to Rome-can anyone confirm that AVIS is located at or very close to the train station?

Aug 10th, 2007, 09:45 AM
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 528
Train from Orvieto to Rome-can anyone confirm that AVIS is located at or very close to the train station?

Hi Everyone!

We have reservations thru Auto Europe to drop our car in Orvieto. We plan to take the train into Rome. I looked quickly on Mappy.com and entered the address from the Avis website. It appears that Avis is not really close to the train station (. I suspect that it's a small office so they may not offer complimentary transportation to the rail station either. We will have a lot of luggage so can anyone confirm?? I may want to look at another drop-off option if it's not really close. Thank you!
ILUVPARIS is offline  
Aug 10th, 2007, 10:43 AM
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 692
When we were in Orvieto in September 2005 with an Avis car, they had to send someone from Terni since they had closed their office in Orvieto. At the time I think I was told that in the future one could NOT return a car to Orvieto, but things may have changed. (We had reserved our car through AutoEurope before the Avis office closing).

Hertz, on the other hand, has an office immediately across the street from the Orvieto train station.

Good luck!

KC
knoxvillecouple is offline  
Aug 10th, 2007, 10:50 AM
  #3  
DRJ
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,004
Several years ago Avis had an office a cab ride away (five minutes and ten euro) but still in Orvieto Basso. Then they closed the office. They may, however, have reopened. At any rate, the above poster is correct. Hertz is very nearby. (I always train from Rome so I can pranzo at I Sette Consoli.)
DRJ is offline  
Aug 10th, 2007, 11:31 AM
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 528
It must have reopened because this is a recent booking and I did find the address on the Avis website. Sounds like Hertz is the better option though. Arrgh!! Well at least it's better to find out now instead of when we arrive with 2 huge suitcases!
ILUVPARIS is offline  
Aug 10th, 2007, 11:45 AM
  #5  
ira
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 74,334
Hi IL,

Have you called Avis?
ira is offline  
Aug 10th, 2007, 12:36 PM
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 78,322
Avis Customer Service -- Worlwide Reservation Telephone NumbersWithin a Country, Toll Free Number, International Number. United States ... Customer Service, 1-800-352-7900. Avis.com Assistance, 1-800-230-4898 ...
http://www.avis.com/AvisWeb/JSP/glob...ice/ww_usc.jsp
PalenQ is offline  
Aug 10th, 2007, 12:57 PM
  #7  
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 4,074
When I am in your shoes I call the car rental office I have to contact either to leave or pick up the car. It is this simple.
Graziella5b is offline  
Aug 11th, 2007, 06:22 AM
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 78,322
Calling AVIS to see if they have an office in Orvieto - BRILLIANT!
PalenQ is offline  
Aug 12th, 2007, 04:27 AM
  #9  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 528
Wow--did you bother to read the first line of my post? Auto Europe booked this reservation for us! So yes, Avis DOES have an office in Orvieto however, I found that it is NOT located at the train station. It's somewhat close but, far enough that you wouldn't want to walk if you have a lot of luggage. Auto Europe said that Hertz is located right at the train station (which is what I asked for when I booked the rez) so they cancelled the Avis car and booked my reservation with Hertz.

The problem with my calling the Avis toll-free number is that I got someone here in the USA who really has no clue how far the office is from the train station and the best they could do is to give me the office address which I already knew. They basically tell you the same information that's posted on their website. I did try calling the local number in Orvieto a couple of times but the person I would get on the phone did not speak English.

I only posted because I hoped that someone here might have actually done this previously so they could tell me just how far away it is. It seemed simple enough but I didn't realize I would need to give a detailed account all of my research up front in order for someone to tell me whether they had used Avis in Orvieto as a car drop recently. I'm not stupid! I did know enough to call Avis--but they didn't seem to know the answer either!


Geez!
ILUVPARIS is offline  
Aug 13th, 2007, 06:23 AM
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 78,322
Call AutoEurope - BRILLIANT!

the trouble with 'first-hand' experiences is that they are often not up to date.

If i book a car through someone i would demand that they tell me exactly where i can pick it up.
PalenQ is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Original Poster
Forum
Replies
Last Post
abenedek
Europe
10
Feb 1st, 2011 03:54 PM
leuk2
Europe
1
Sep 2nd, 2009 07:23 AM
dosu
Europe
3
Sep 24th, 2007 09:01 PM
tuscanlifeedit
Europe
6
Jun 7th, 2007 12:54 PM
betsy
Europe
6
Feb 27th, 2001 03:00 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy -

FODOR'S VIDEO

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:06 AM.