Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   tour companies for italy (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/tour-companies-for-italy-639849/)

p1chap Aug 17th, 2006 07:19 AM

tour companies for italy

we're off to italy next year and would appreciate comments on tour company experiences. we're strongly leaning toward perilllo.

nytraveler Aug 17th, 2006 09:20 AM

I have no personal experience of Perillo - but (elderly) friends of my parents took one of their Italy tours 2 yers ago and were very disappointed. (And these are people who almost always do tours.)

They said hotels were modest at best and in poor locations (the hotel in Venice was actually "substituted" for one in Mestre) and the meals provided were barely edible.

Caveat: these people usually travel with Tauck - which they like - but went with relatives who wanted to do Perillo. They said the relatively small reduction in price was not at all worth the huge drop in quality.

MFNYC Aug 17th, 2006 09:33 AM

I've haerd good things about Tauck. Most people on this board are 'do it youself-ers'. As NYT points out, some tours do place you in poorly located hotels, and if food is included, it generally is inferior.

When do you plan on going and for how long? Any must-see cities or areas?

Margaretlb Aug 17th, 2006 09:35 AM

My mother took a Globus tour in March 2005 and loved it. Her's was a 12 or 14 night tour and she visited the Almalfi Coast and north. Her tour included Sorrento, Capri, Rome, Florence, Assisi, Milan, Lake Como and Venice. Assisi was only one night but all other stops were for at least two. She was more than satisfied and it is just incredible how much she saw in such a short time. Mom was 73 at the time but all others on the tour were mid-50's to 60's.

LJ Aug 17th, 2006 09:56 AM