Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   To see or not to see in Scotland (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/to-see-or-not-to-see-in-scotland-82735/)

Micki Aug 13th, 2000 11:38 AM

To see or not to see in Scotland

I'm planning a vacation to Scotland for May 2001. I want to plan the trip myself, rent a car and drive. This is my first time outside the US. I've read these travel guides about Scotland: Fodors, Frommers, Frommer's Best Loved Driving Tours, and The Rough Guide. While reading these books I made notes about specific sites that seemed interesting. Then I thought I would design a route around visiting these various sites but here's the problem: (1) I kinda doubt it's possible to see everything on my list in two weeks. So, which do I eliminate? (2) Are the sites I've listed worth the time and are there other "must see" places I've not included? (3) How much time do I allocate for any given area or site? I could sure use some suggestions from anyone out there that has travelled to or lives in Scotland. Here is my current (it continually changes) list of places I want to see while I'm there. <BR> <BR>Edinburgh (3 days?) - Natl Gallery of Scotland, Scottish Natl Portrait Gallery, Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, St Giles Catherdral, and time to wander and shop. Also nearby - Craigmillar Castle, Crichton Castle, Rosslyn Chapel, Linlithgow Palace, Blackness Castle, Lenoxlove House, and Tantallon Castle. <BR> <BR>Melrose area (1 or 2 days?) - abbeys of Melrose, Jedburgh, and Dryburgh, Abbottsford House and Mellerstain House. Also Manderston, Hermitage Castle, Drumlanrig's Tower, Traquair House. <BR> <BR>Other castles and palaces: Stirling, Doune, Campbell, Loch Leven, Falkland and Scone Palaces, Glamis, Blair, Braemer, Crathes, Dunnottar. Also, Threave and Caerlaverock. (I love castles, history...Nothing like that in the US, 250 yrs is as old as