Reload this Page >

Tips on cell phones, rental cars, B&Bs and other stuff from my trip to Scotland

Old Oct 25th, 2004, 03:21 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Part 1 of 3

We decided to burn the last of our USAir FF miles (while they are still worth something) on a 2 week trip to Scotland and the Northumberland area. I will not bore you with a blow by blow other than saying we tried to see every castle and historical site from Glasgow to St. Andrews and from Perth to Newcastle. I would like to pass on a few things I learned and some highlights, but first I would like to thank Sheila and others that give such good advice on this forum. I you are a newbie here, do a search first before asking questions. I found all my questions answered without having to pose any new questions and learned so much just by reading the other posts.

Tip #1 RENTAL CARS - Keep checking rental web sites for special offers and discounts. We got a subcompact through Thrifty for 226 GBP (US$417) for 2 weeks. We easily declined the CDW without a hassle as they didn't want to see all the documentation I had so carefully acquired from my CC company proving I had insurance. Study the highway code before you go as some signage is different than what you may be use to. Rural Scottish roads are narrow without shoulders and I was often glad I had rented a subcompact. Gas (petrol) was surprisingly cheapest at Glasgow airport.