Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Tips for family London trip with 10 month old.

Aug 20th, 2006, 04:40 PM
Original Poster

Ok, it may seem crazy on our part but we are tentatively planning a trip in May-June 2006 with our son who will be 10 months old at the time. I say tentatively because we are going to make a decision by February, depending on how we think the baby will do with a bit more time with him. In the mean time I am beginning my research. Which I think is a large part of the fun!!

A little about us. My husband and I have been traveling to Europe since 2002 at least one time annually so we have a little experience abroad. We have also brought my oldest son, starting when he was 12 years old, along with us. He is now 15. But we realize that this trip will be a lot different with not as much flexibility. But we really LOVE to travel and hope to be able to share this with our children as much as possible.

So with all that said, I will be doing all the research to get ready over the next 9 months or so and will be grateful for any wisdom that any of you will be willing to share with me.

We are budget minded travelers so we do not eat out a lot or stay in 5 star hotels. We usually rent apartments or stay in B&Bís, we have also stayed in hostels when the situation is right. We usually have picnic lunches and eat in whenever possible. We usually only eat out on our farewell dinner or during lunch at times.

Our planned destinations are London and Paris. We chose London as we have never been there before and there would be no language barrier which would be easiest with a new baby. We chose Paris because we love the city and cannot get enough!! This is a familiar destination as we have been there several times and feel comfortable.