Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Theatre newbie help please :) (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/theatre-newbie-help-please-814375/)

Iowa_Redhead Nov 14th, 2009 01:39 PM

Theatre newbie help please :)

I'm a complete theatre newbie, the only time I've been to anything is when the high school took us to Phantom.

I'm looking at booking tickets to Oliver through lastminute.com (I don't want to rely on getting a ticket at the tkts booth). I'm a bit confused by the seating. The tickets are set up as top price, second, third, fourth and fifth price tickets. However, the seating chart shows stalls, grand circle, upper circle and balcony.

Where might first and second price tickets land me? What's the view difference between these? The website does not tell me the exact seats, the theatre allocates seats at time of booking for the best available at that time.

I picked Oliver because I've seen it suggested quite a few times, is there a different show that might be better for a newbie? I'd give ideas for what I like but I really don't know. :)

Thanks for any help!

BKP Nov 14th, 2009 02:08 PM

I believe the Royal Drury Lane Theatre sells their tickets in price bands, A,B,C,D,E. In the stalls (ground level) you can have tickets in A B or C bands, depending on how close you are to the stage. In the Grand Circle your price bands are A or B. In the Upper Circle your price bands are B or C. In the Balcony the price bands are D or E. So -- if you choose top price (A) you will be closer to the stage on the ground level, the Stalls, or closer to the stage in the Grand Circle (American 2nd story). If you choose the second level (B) you could be in the middle of the Stalls or the back of the Grand Circle. If you choose the the third (C) you can either be at the back of the stalls or the back of the Upper Circle, and so on. Does that make sense?