Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

The Hague International Court - anyone visited?

May 1st, 2009, 05:47 PM
Original Poster

I will be in Amsterdam in late June, and have been looking at visiting The Hague. The Carnegie Foundation has tours of the Peace Palace. I notice that International Court has one hour information sessions as well.

http://www.icj-cij.org/information/i...p1=7&p2=3&p3=2

I am not a lawyer, and just thought it would be an interesting visit. Has anyone gone? Is it very formal and technical? There are no age restrictions that I see, so does anyone see a problem taking a kid in Grade 4 and 6? Clearly I wouldn't be asking if I thought they weren't interested or able to follow a one hour tour.

I need to submit a request six weeks in advance, so I only have about a week to decide.

Anyone with any first hand experience?

Thank you.
May 4th, 2009, 07:44 AM
Original Poster

Bumping this up in hopes someone can help.
May 4th, 2009, 09:00 AM

TTT
May 4th, 2009, 09:41 AM

I have stayed in the Hague many times over the years and in fact,just came back a few days ago. The Hague is really a fascinating city and has much to offer in regards to different and unusual activities.
I have toured just the Peace Palace and definitely think that you would enjoy the World Court tour if you can get in as Charles Taylor from Africa is supposedly on trial right now.The actual Peace Palace is done in beautifully carved woods and needlepoint chairs of the various countries,etc.

I have sat in several times at the Yugoslavian war crime trials held over at the World Forum area which you can just walk in without an appointment.They will check out your credentials and screen you before you go to various courtrooms but it is fascinating to watch the international tribunal at work.