Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

The Girl in the Pearl Earring in Luxembourg/

Dec 21st, 2003, 12:10 AM
Original Poster

I just saw this movie and Scarlett J. is so good as the lead character, she looks so much like the painting model too.

I was thinking how much the movie captures the feeling of the Netherlands in the moodiness and the lighting inside of buildings. It reminded me of when I visited Rembrandt's house.

It was filmed in Luxembourg though.
Dec 21st, 2003, 03:22 AM

I'm really looking forward to seeing it!
Dec 21st, 2003, 03:50 AM

It's a visual masterpiece. As a photographer, I just sat there enrapt from the first magnificent frame to the last.
Dec 21st, 2003, 06:28 AM

Oh this is good to hear! I wanted to see this film from the first mention of it. I too think she looks just like the real girl in the pearl earring~
Dec 21st, 2003, 08:00 AM

Read the book, which I enjoyed a lot - will see the movie.

Speaking of a movie shot in different location than the book. Saw 'Cold Mountain' and thought the mountains looked a bit rugged for the Smokies - the film was shot in Romania.
Dec 21st, 2003, 08:18 AM

Was all of it shot in Luxembourg? No scenes of Delft at all? It would be a shame to have nothing of Delft in the movie.
I finished "The Lady and the Unicorn" a few weeks ago and wouldn't be surprised to see this one made into a movie as well. Another blind character in this one--is that a literary device for Ms. Chevalier or is there a more personal reason she features a blind character in her novels? (Not complaining, just curious)
Still waiting for Lost in Translation to make its Brussels debut--that is at the top of my must-see movie list.
Dec 21st, 2003, 10:54 AM

Scarlett Johanssen as the lead is about as perfect a bit of casting as possible. I'm looking forward to seeing it, no matter where it was shot.
Dec 21st, 2003, 11:36 AM