Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Taking mom to UK and Paris, what can't we miss?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 6th, 2004, 08:48 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I studied abroad for two months in Scotland and traveled a little last summer. It was my mom's dream trip, so this summer I'm taking her to see where I lived and to do an abbreviated version of my summer exploration. We only have about two weeks and are hoping to go on a budget of between $1,500 and $2,000 per person for everything
I feel like because I have been there my opinion on where we should go is tainted. What can a first-time visitor to the U.K. and Paris absolutely not miss?!

You guys were SO helpful when I was preparing my last trip. I hope you all come through again. Thank you so much!
Old Jul 7th, 2004, 04:05 AM

Hi
Two weeks at $2000 per person --does that include air fare?

I suggest that you buy a good general guidebook for those two cities, or else have your mom use fodors.com and go to the Destinations section to scan the basic info on those cities. I'm sure she will have some ideas of her own--places she has always wanted to visit.

I have files on London and Paris; if you'd lke to see them, email me at
[email protected]

good luck
Old Jul 7th, 2004, 04:29 AM

I'm curious: Why would you trust the opinions of strangers (us) more than your own first-hand experience in Europe. Have confidence in yourself. After all, our opinions are just as "tainted"!
Old Jul 7th, 2004, 04:50 AM
ira

Hi D,

If you figure $500 for airfare, you are left with $100/day. About 1/2 of that will be for hotel room.

$50/day is doable in Paris, but is a tight budget for London.

You might find this trip report helpful.

Ira's Mother's trip to Paris
http://www.fodors.com/forums/threads...p;tid=34497442
Old Jul 7th, 2004, 05:00 AM