Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Summer 2011 Six Week Itinerary - With Kids! Thoughts?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 9th, 2010, 07:24 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm a teacher who is using my summer off to proactively plan (and dream) about our big European vacation next summer. We have been to Europe several times but never with our kids who will be 6 and 4 next summer. This will also be our longest trip anywhere. We are ordering a BMW through their European Delivery program, and after picking up the car in Munich we plan to drive a big loop. This will be a rural trip, mostly, because the cities will be more appreciated and easier to navigate when the kids are older and we are sans car.

Anyway, here's the rough outline...

Week 1 (7-10 days) - Arrive in Frankfurt. Spend 3 nights with family who live an hour outside of Frankfurt. Train to Munich for 2 nights. Pick up car. Drive to Bavaria and explore for 4-6 nights.

Week 2 - Long drive to Northern Tuscany. Stay in Lucca area. Daytrips to Cinque Terre, and other Tuscan towns. We hope to find an agriturisimo or budget villa for the week.

Week 3 - This week is still in the works. I'm leaning toward the Dordogne, France. DH wants to see a portion of the Tour de France. We might split this week between two locations. The Pyrenees are a possibility.

Week 4 - Already booked a gite in Normandy! http://bed.breakfast.pagesperso-oran...es/Page597.htm

Week 5 - Already booked a farmhouse outside of Brugge, Belgium. http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-ren...0?uni_id=70171

Week 6 - Back to Germany where we will hopefully explore the Mosel/Rhine. DH will drive and/or taxi on the Nürburgring. We'll stay a few nights with family again before leaving from Frankfurt.