Summer 2010: Jewish Immersion in Italy?

Old Jul 7th, 2009, 03:39 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Summer 2010: Jewish Immersion in Italy?

I am a college student hoping to spend next summer (two-and-a-half to three months) in Europe. I've never been at all (well, I had a layover in Heathrow once, but that so doesn't count)
I thiiiiiink I want to go to Italy, but nothing's set at all. For the record, my foreign language is Hebrew, so wherever I go, I will need to learn rudimentary language.

I was thinking that I'd take like two weeks (end of May-early June) and "do the tourist thing", and then settle in Italy and just live there. Buy groceries, take walks, maybe even a job....The main goal of my trip is really to become a part of the Jewish community in the city I choose. Once I figure out the basic pieces of my trip, I figure I can contact the Chabad there or something and work out more, but I was hoping for some help from you all...

Which city in Italy would you choose to live in for the observant Jewish community?
Venice, Rome, and Florence are the big ones, but if anyone knows of an observant Jewish community in a smaller city, I'd be game to consider that...
How safe is it to do this on my own?
How much should I hope to budget? (My guess was that I would need $3000 over the summer, but I have no idea if that's right....)
Will I be able to find a part time job? (I speak English fluently, Hebrew fairly fluently, and I will learn Italian as best as I can before I go... but who knows...)
Will I need a visa?
Best way to access cash?
(Should I try to see other countries,too, or just concentrate on living and loving?)

I realize that there are a lot of questions here and even more variables, but everything that you can offer would be really appreciated. I want to try and work out the big picture before school starts in August and I lose a lot of free time....

Thanks so much!
Old Jul 7th, 2009, 04:09 PM

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts