Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Suggestions for Ephesus, Turkey (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/suggestions-for-ephesus-turkey-738225/)

windycity847 Sep 22nd, 2007 04:21 PM

Suggestions for Ephesus, Turkey

Is that well known archeological site, don't recall name, the best place to go? I've been to what seem like similar sites in other countries so not sure if this is worth the time and money. Besides, on a budget so not interested in just doing the tourist thing. All suggestions welcome but must be by Monday, the 24th am. Thhanks.

sshephard Sep 22nd, 2007 05:50 PM

I'm not really sure what you are asking. Is Ephesus worth making a stop for? For me, absolutely. I am a student and teacher of Greek and Roman history so you probably won't be surprised that seeing one of the best preserved Greek cities and theaters in the Mediterranean world was exciting.

What does "doing the tourist thing" mean? If that means seeing archaeological sites and learning more about the history of an area, then you shouldn't see Ephesus. I'm sure that many would see Ephesus as just another remnant of some forgotten people.

If your cruise boat is stopping there and you have a choice of staying on the boat, shopping in the port city or seeing Ephesus, I would say that you should see Ephesus - it is not your average archaeological site.

molker Sep 22nd, 2007 10:34 PM

if you are any where near to Ephesus, I would recommend a visit.It is worth time and money.
I visited there again just last week and agree with the above poster.
It is not what I would call a " Tourist Thing"
The tourist thing is walking the shopping streets in Kusadasi in my opinion.

Entrance fee is 10 Turkish Lira- ( 6 euro or 7+ USD) certainly a bargain for the opportunity to see this city.
Now also open are the Terrace Houses an additional 10 lira entrance fee but worth it.