suggest in itinerary for Germany

Old Aug 11th, 2005, 08:57 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
suggest in itinerary for Germany

I am just beginning my research at this point. I have amassed enough points for a couple of business class tickets to Europe. I am interested in going to Germany. Would anyone like to suggest a possible itinerary for a 10-12 day trip to Germany? Here are some details about me and my likes/dislikes:

I am 38 years old and will be traveling with my 50 year old partner of 12 years. We are both male. We may be joined by a couple of friends, also male around the same ages. I am too old to care about nightclubs, but too young to spend my time wandering through antique stores, if you know what I mean.

I enjoy photography, good meals, traveling by train and boat, and meeting locals when traveling. I am particularly interested in going to some of the more scenic places that have lakes, rivers, quaint towns, and possibly castles. I don't particularly enjoy museums and churches, but will spend some time wandering through if there are some 'not to be missed' things to see.

We will most likely fly in and out of Frankfurt. I would not like to drive, but would prefer to travel around Germany by train and boat, as I'm not comfortable with driving in Europe.

Our budget for the trip is about $3000-$4000, for hotels, food, and trains for two, so moderately priced accomodations are a must, but we feel we should be able to afford private, clean, and comfortable hotels.

Any and all ideas are welcome, especially ideas for good books and other research resources.

Thanks so much in advance Fodorites. I'm looking forward to your responses.
Old Aug 11th, 2005, 09:22 AM

What time of year are you thinking about going? I prefer June and September for Germany. The weather in July and August is nice but the towns and major sights are overrun with tourists.