Go Back  Fodor's Forum > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page > studying abroad, need advice on how to spend two month-long breaks
Notices

studying abroad, need advice on how to spend two month-long breaks

Aug 23rd, 2014, 11:10 AM
Original Poster

studying abroad, need advice on how to spend two month-long breaks

I'm studying abroad in London next year for the entire year. We have a month long break in December/January and another one in April. I am trying to figure out which European countries I should visit during each break. I've been warned that traveling from city to city too often is tiring, but who knows when I'll be back here again so I want to make the most of it. The main problem is that the winter break is going to be pretty cold. I'm trying to figure out which cities in Europe are the most worth visiting in general (recommendations are welcome). But I'm also trying to figure out which are best enjoyed in winter, and which should be saved till April. I don't want to "waste" a great city by visiting it in winter, when it's really much prettier/more enjoyable in spring. But I still want the winter trip to be fun.

My friend and I thought it might be best to visit northern european cities in winter. (Maybe Copenhagen, Amsterdam, German Christmas Markets somewhere, Vienna, Budapest, Prague?) In the spring we would potentially do Italy, Slovenia, Croatia, Greece, Turkey.

Does this sound like a good idea? Are any of these places less worthy of a visit/overrated? We have a lot of places we'd like to cram in, but if we could take any off our list that would probably be helpful. Our strategy seems to be to go to colder places when it's cold so we can enjoy warmer places when it's warm, but would you do it differently.

Thanks so much, any advice would be so appreciated!

(Also, if we missed France/Spain/Portugal would we be missing out a lot? I've heard Switzerland is nice--should we try to fit it in to our trip?)
Aug 23rd, 2014, 01:10 PM