Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   studying abroad in Florence? (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/studying-abroad-in-florence-481559/)

alm0stbeautiful Oct 20th, 2004 03:06 PM

studying abroad in Florence?

Well I live in Seattle, WA, and at my college there is an opprotunity to go to Florence Italy and study for a quarter. For those of you that HAVE been to Florence, what do you think of it? Overall I think it'd be a FANTASTIC opprotunity, but I've never been and am just curious to see what people think of it...

tedgale Oct 20th, 2004 03:35 PM

Well it appealed to persons as diverse as Robert and Elizabeth Browning, Henry James, Nancy Cunard -- do you need more names?

I was a student there for a "quarter" 30 years ago and yes, I loved it -- but NB it was winter, not tourist season. You will find many American students there -- that may be a plus or a minus, depending on your view.

Leely Oct 20th, 2004 03:43 PM

Florence is very nice. What is it that you want to know?

I didn't study there, but a number of friends when I was in college did (this was about 10 years ago). They liked it, although, as the previous poster noted, many many American college students spend a semester or so there. Some people appreciate that. For others it's a drawback.

fluffy Oct 20th, 2004 04:36 PM

I say go for it, are you arranging this through a community college? That would be the way to go, I know it would be much more affordabe.What is your interest of study? Sometimes those study abroad programs can be limited.If you've never been to Italy , I highly suggest Florence. You could be in Rome in 1 1/2 hours, and Venice in three, if you take the bullet train. If you want to get away for the week end.
I was in Florence last Sept. and stayed near one of the language schools, I really enveied the students, studying in Italy.
Best of luck
Fluffy