Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Study abroad - Nantes? Paris? Strasbourg?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Dec 24th, 2001, 12:10 PM
Alexa

I'm a sophomore in college, and I will be spending the fall studying in France. I'm having a difficult time deciding what city to study in - my choices are Paris, Nantes and Strasbourg. The program in Nantes sounds the best to me, but I am concerned that a whole semester in the Loire Valley would be a bit boring. Any suggestions/opinions? My main goals: to become fluent in French and to have a good time.

Old Dec 24th, 2001, 12:42 PM
Sue

My daughter spent her junior year from Penn State U. in Strasbourg and had a wonderful time. She became fluent in French and made lots of friends among the other international students there, as well as the French. I'll see if she'll write to you and give you some details.<BR>I, myself, spent 2 wks in Tours studying French; I think once you have seen the chateaux, the Loire valley doesn't have as much to offer as the Strasbourg area, with its quaint villages, etc. Of course, the Loire valley is only about 2 hrs. away from Paris by TGV. Just my thoughts on the subject! I'm sure you will have a rewarding time, wherever you go.

Old Dec 24th, 2001, 01:18 PM
clairobscur

Nantes is a pleasant town, quite lively, and has a large population of students. So, I don't think it's really a boring place.

Old Dec 25th, 2001, 04:47 AM
pam

Omigod! Go to Paris...My guess is that in ten years you won't be able to discern the difference in the instruction you received in Loire vis a vis the City, but I bet you'll never forget what it was like to live in Paris for 5 months. They all have something to offer, but if I were you, I would not miss the opportunity to live in Paris with the built-in support system of an abroad program. My 3 cents...Have a fantastic time!

Old Dec 25th, 2001, 11:09 AM
Amy