Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Student Now Living in France .. observations (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/student-now-living-in-france-observations-259281/)

Genesea Sep 19th, 2002 03:50 AM

Student Now Living in France .. observations

I'm an American college student who just moved to Pau last week for 8 months. I thought fellow travelers would be interested in my observations thus far ...<BR><BR>1) Before my trip, I bought two French culture books [one called "Savoir Flair: 211 Ways to Survive French Culture" -- or something like that -- and "Culture Shock: France."]. I have found the books to be helpful about unknown customs. For instance, I never knew that the Maitre'd needed to be signaled for the order and the check. Otherwise, he [or she] will wait .. and so will you. <BR><BR>2) The French really do take showers and shave. I live with a family, and they take showers every day. And I haven't been around any stinky French men. Also, I haven't seen an women with armpit hair or unshaven legs [and I've been to the beach in Biarritz]. <BR><BR>3) The French aren't as hostile as it is assumed -- even in Paris. When my friend and I were traveling the Metro with all of our luggage, two business men helped us carry our luggage up the stairs [they don't have lifts!]. And a random male student crossing the street stopped to ask what hostel we were staying at; he wanted to give us directions. I guess the students may be friendlier, but everyone is saying "Bonjour," "Bonsoir," or whatever. <BR><BR>4) Don't even try to expect the French to understand "Eiffle Tower" even if you use your best french accent. In french it is "Le Tour Eiffle."<BR><BR>5) I have never encountered a rebuff because of my french. Granted, my accent is slightly Californian, and I don't understand a lot, I still put on a smile, use "Excuse-moi, je voudrais ..," and try to