Speaking English in France

Old Jan 13th, 2000, 09:11 AM
RK

Speaking English in France

For all the experienced travellers to France: What has been your experience with language use, both French and English? I am studying beginning French now, and am hoping to use a little when I go in April. What is the truth? Have you found the French to prefer use of their language, however amatuerish? Do most speak English? We will be in Paris and Cannes/Antibes. Thank You!

Old Jan 13th, 2000, 09:20 AM
Carol

My experience has been that in Paris, everyone speaks English, and that the French like to practice their English as much as I like to practice my French. I have had only encouragement in my attempts with their language, but don't try it in a crowded, busy place. Also, most Parisians will switch to English if they see that you're struggling with French. By all means, use your French! Bonne chance et bon voyage.

Old Jan 13th, 2000, 09:26 AM
TJ

I agree, use as much French as you can and are comfortable with. They'll appreciate the effort. However, at a minimum, and this goes for Americans who have never had a day of French in their lives, start every conversation with the following: "Bonjour, Madame (or Monsieur). Parlez-vous anglais?" You'll most likely get a faux-sheepish reply "a little," and then you'll find that Madame/Monsieur actually knows quite a bit of English and enjoys speaking it (at least in Paris).

Old Jan 13th, 2000, 09:54 AM
Al

A smile and a little French go a long ways to break the ice. You will find your fears are groundless. Enjoy!

Old Jan 13th, 2000, 10:56 AM
elvira

These are two different cultures with two views of language; this is not about right or wrong, it's about different: