Spain - "deeper cuts"?

Search

Spain - "deeper cuts"?

Search this Thread

Old Aug 18th, 2018, 03:32 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Spain - "deeper cuts"?

Hi, I studied abroad in Granada in college and would like to take my husband for his first visit to Spain for my 30th birthday - over Labor Day weekend - next year. Granada and Barcelona are my must-return cities... but I'd like everywhere else we go to be somewhere new for me. I would LOVE suggestions for north/NW Spain more than anything. But would love your opinions on where else we should go. We will have 2 weeks max.

Cities I've already visited: Sevilla, Cordoba, Malaga, Nerja, Madrid, Toledo, Segovia, Avila, El Escorial (and Granada and Barcelona)

I'm looking less for churches/museums and more for interesting food and culture. I've heard Picos de Europa is gorgeous and would not be opposed to doing some hiking or getting outside of cities and into nature. I LOVE markets like the Boqueria and other flea/street markets, and would be happy to just spend time wandering and eating my way through whatever cities we visit.

Thanks!

Last edited by amandarawrrr; Aug 18th, 2018 at 03:50 PM. Reason: add time of year
Old Aug 18th, 2018, 05:06 PM

going by car or train? For such a widely removed triangle - all three places far apart take train between them and maybe rent car once in say. Santigo de la Compestella I really liked and that area. For train info check Renfe - Spanish railways site; for insights on booking own tickets www.seat61.com and for general train info also www.ricksteves.com and BETS-European Rail Experts.
Old Aug 18th, 2018, 05:16 PM
Original Poster

Am open to train and potentially renting a car - or flying. Thanks for the links. I suppose Barcelona is negotiable, but it’s one of my favorite cities that I’d love my husband to experience. Granada is happening no matter what
Old Aug 18th, 2018, 05:39 PM