Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Some last minute advice needed for trip to Switzerland.

Jan 12th, 2002, 10:17 AM
Rodney

I am leaving for Switzerland the middle of next week. I will be staying in Geneva 2 days. I have 1 day open which is an aniversary for me and my girlfriend, I plan on proposeing to her, where should we go, give me some ideas. On to Zermat for two days we will be staying at the Zermatterhof. On to Lugano for two Days, staying at Seafood Restaurant & Art Deco Hotel Del Lago. On to Interlaken for three days staying at Sunny Days B&B. Then on to Bulle for 4 days. Give me some suggestions of romantic things to do and see in these towns. Does anybody know anything about the places we will be staying. Also I am a recent graduate of culinary school so any recomendations related to food, like choclate factories and cheese factories are welcomed.Also I have not been able to find a good map of all of the train routes in Switzerland, where can I find one? I was wanting to go on the Glaicer Express from Zermat on to Lugano But I can't figure where we will have to get off to head South to Lugano.

Jan 12th, 2002, 10:43 AM
BTilke

The city park in Lugano is a wonderful place to propose if you want to do it outside (I'm sending you a photo). Make sure you try the risotto al funghi at a good restaurant in Lugano. Excellent!! And the Ticino wines are very good-- we like the light reds and roses (which are darker than most roses, more like a very light red). Don't know about the trains, hopefully someone will be more helpful with that. Good luck!!
BTilke (Brussels--and Basel, starting tomorrow)

Jan 12th, 2002, 11:05 AM
Geoff

Swiss national trains are www.sbb.ch