Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Solo Travel Europe Winter (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/solo-travel-europe-winter-1112847/)

Navyx951 Jun 15th, 2016 03:49 PM

Solo Travel Europe Winter

I am studying abroad in Spain this September until December 17th and plan on leaving Europe the 2nd or 3rd of January. I am looking for opinions on what to do from the 17th of December until I leave. I am on a budget but am open to any trip ideas. I like outdoor activities, food, art, and am a very open minded person. I want the best European winter experience I can get, any ideas? Thanks in advance!

Anthony

sparkchaser Jun 15th, 2016 10:59 PM

<i>I want the best European winter experience I can get, any ideas?</i>

I have no idea what that means. You want to be cold and wet?

You have failed to mention:
-budget (as in actual numbers, not the word which itself is pretty meaningless)
-modes of transportation
-what you want to see/do (can you ski? snowboard?)
-anything you want to avoid?
-any particular place you wanted to spend Christmas? New years Eve?
-do you need to return to Spain to catch a plane out of Europe?
-do you have any special dietary requirements that need attended to?

You will be in Europe in prime time for Christmas Markets (actually you'll have about 7 days to visit them). I'd head straight to Prague and spend a few days there and hit the Christmas market then head to Germany and work your way West also hitting Christmas markets then head into Brussels for a few days, then Paris then back to Spain(?) to leave.

traveller1959 Jun 16th, 2016 01:18 AM

>> the best European winter experience I can get <<

German Christmas markets have been mentioned. Usually, the markets will be closed after 23 Dec. Do not ask for "the best" Christmas markets - they are all good, but there is added value if you are in a historic town or city.