Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Solo Female Traveler in Prague and Vienna (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/solo-female-traveler-in-prague-and-vienna-541022/)

astraea26 Jul 1st, 2005 03:39 PM

Solo Female Traveler in Prague and Vienna

I have no knowledge at all of the languages spoken in Prague and Vienna. As a solo female traveler, will I have trouble when visiting these cities if I can only speak English? Obviously, I will arm myself with language books/dictionaries, but I wonder if I should wait to travel with a companion to avoid any "dicey" situations...?

suze Jul 1st, 2005 04:03 PM

While I am not familiar with your two cities... Unless your travel companion speaks foreign languages I'm not sure why that would be of any help.

Honestly, I don't think language has much to do with safety. You aren't going to talk yourself out of a "dicey" situation anyway. Usual travel city smarts should keep you reasonably safe in the first place.

chanle51 Jul 1st, 2005 04:48 PM

I have been to both, and consider them both to be fairly to very safe cities. I had no issue at all in Prague and was able to get by with a Czech phrasebook, and at most places in the city, found that at least one person spoke English.

Even moreso in Vienna - English is even more prevalent there so long as you are in the city proper.

We stayed on the outer areas of both cities, and felt completely safe as a couple. In terms of a solo traveller, staying in the city center of both towns should be even more safe (common sense and "travel smarts" as above should make for a safe trip.)

We never once felt unsafe in either city, even at night. My wife and I felt more safe there walking solo than we do in Boston or NY.

Have fun! Man oh man do I miss Prague!

nytraveler Jul 1st, 2005 04:52 PM