Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Sneaky way to reserve restaurants in Rome (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/sneaky-way-to-reserve-restaurants-in-rome-700017/)

loveseattle Apr 25th, 2007 03:44 PM

Sneaky way to reserve restaurants in Rome

Hi, I'm new to Fodor's and am finding this to be a terrific resource. From reading posts, it looks like restaurant reservations for dinner in Rome are needed for most popular spots during May/June.

This is our question: We have reservations at a big, fancy hotel in Rome and also reservations at a smaller one, because initially we couldn't decide what we wanted. We have decided to go with the smaller hotel because of price, but from email exchanges they are very curt and don't seem to offer any extra concierge-type service.

You can probably see where this is going. Before I cancel the fancy hotel reservation, should I email them and ask them to make our restaurant reservations? I know it sounds a little dishonest, but I can't figure out another way to make these dinner reservations.

BTW, canceling rooms at the big hotel is done online through an automated system, so assuming someone at the front desk would be making the restaurant calls, I don't think the room cancelation would have any affect on the dinner reservations.

Any thoughts??

surfmom Apr 25th, 2007 03:47 PM

Maybe I'm naive, but in the interest of 'fairness' the concierge is paid a salary to service the clients of the hotel. Not others. Hence, the benefits of staying at that hotel. Do you stop at a large hotel and get the doorman to flag a taxi for you also ?

Were you planning on stopping into the large hotel and giving that concierge an extremely generous tip ? Would you have tipped if you stayed at that hotel? Or do you expect this for free also?

Padraig Apr 25th, 2007 03:50 PM