Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Ski & Sightseeing in Italy (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/ski-and-sightseeing-in-italy-87031/)

Mari Sep 20th, 2000 07:09 AM

Ski & Sightseeing in Italy

Hi! We have a 2-week vacation in March '01. My husband is an avid skier, but I am a novice. We want to spend 1 week in a ski resort and 1 week sightseeing nearby. I would like to stay in a town that offers more to see and do than just skiing, since I will not want to ski for 6 days. We want to find a resort area that offers: 1) good skiing for different levels 2) a real, cute, charming, Italian town with old buildings, piazzas, churches, restaurants, etc. <BR> <BR>For the second week of the trip, we are looking for itinerary suggestions departing from the ski area. We would prefer to use trains/buses instead of renting a car, and we would prefer to see "off the beaten track" towns, since we have been multiple times to Rome, Venice, and Florence. <BR> <BR>Some of the places that we are considering are: Bormio (Alta Valdellina), Courmayeur, and Ortisei (Val Gardena in Dolomites). Afterwards we are considering going to Tuscany/Umbria or the Italian Lake region. <BR> <BR>Any suggestions regarding towns, accomodations, itineraries, etc. will be GREATLY appreciated!

kayla Sep 20th, 2000 08:20 AM