Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Since there are a few posts recently that says Pisa was underrated, here is my suggestion on how to enjoy it... (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/since-there-are-a-few-posts-recently-that-says-pisa-was-underrated-here-is-my-suggestion-on-how-to-enjoy-it-299669/)

crazymina Mar 21st, 2003 08:19 AM

Since there are a few posts recently that says Pisa was underrated, here is my suggestion on how to enjoy it...

Greetings...<BR><BR>I had been reading these Pisa posts with interest (thought there were a lot of votes for Pisa on the &quot;disappointed&quot; thread.) Since I was close by, I decided to see Pisa anyway.<BR><BR>I have been traveling for a couple of months, and have gotten what backpackers sometimes call &quot;ABC Syndrome&quot; (Another Bloody Castle/Church/Cathedral). My first sight of the tower delighted me.<BR><BR>I agree, Pisa, the city, is not awe inspiring, and if you made a gigantic effort to go (driving far, etc.) you could be underwhelmed. So here is my suggestion...<BR><BR>If you haven't hit a lot of the Tuscan hilltowns yet, go to Lucca, and see Pisa from there. Lucca is a cute town (but not hopping) with some good shopping and plenty of outdoor cafes to hang out in. <BR><BR>If you had a night or two in Lucca, a nice day could be...<BR><BR>-Wake up, have a nice cup of coffee, and walk the streets. Visit some of the foodstores, and gather yourself a nice picnic with a good bottle of wine.<BR><BR>-Around lunchtime, go to the station and catch the train to Pisa. Purchase your return as well. (4 euros total...validate the ticket in the yellow machine).<BR><BR>-Get off at Pisa S. Rossore station, NOT Pisa Centrale. This is the station before the Centrale station. The Campo is 5 minute walk from this station...from the Centrale station, it would be a busride or hike. What's great from the Rossore