Preclearance and farmer John

Old May 5th, 2014, 01:28 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Preclearance and farmer John

I am just learning about preclearance Shannon to JFK and noticed you need to declare if you have been to a farm. We will have visited Kissane Sheep farm in Kerry with the kids. Do you suppose this will require a longer preflight lead time? Has anyone been through this? Is the usual 3 hours prior to international flights still appropriate?
Old May 5th, 2014, 01:38 PM

Naw. They will ask and then on you go. At least that was my experience time before last. Don't even remember it being mentioned this last time. But do give yourself the 3 hours just in case the lines are long or something.
Old May 5th, 2014, 02:50 PM

They may look at your shoes and nothing more!

Real agricultural checks I believe are done Stateside - I once was told I had to go thru such a check in the U.S. after arriving and they saw me eating a banana in the baggage room waiting for my bags - I wanted to get rid of it before Customs - a dog came up and put his head on my day pack on the ground and would not budge - the banana I had been eating had been in the bag and the dog smelt it.

I had to put all my bags thru some special machine that would detect any agricultural stuff.

Personally I would not tell Customs I had been to a farm at all and make sure your shoes don't have sheep dung on them!
Old May 5th, 2014, 03:53 PM

The more I think about it, the time they asked about farm visits we were put into a separate line but since we were the only ones in it, we got through faster than we would have had we fibbed.

Never had an agricultural check stateside, neither NY or NJ.
Old May 6th, 2014, 05:51 PM

we had to walk through some disinfectant one time coming into Ireland from England. Think the mad cow thing was going on.
Old May 6th, 2014, 06:05 PM