Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   silly train question (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/silly-train-question-896000/)

indy_dad Jun 22nd, 2011 01:43 PM

silly train question

I'm a click away from my first train ticket purchase (within the UK) but I can't quite figure out the seat selection. It seems a little random and not every site has the ability to update this before purchasing. With traveling as a family, I'd like to ensure that we are at least paired up with the kids. Am I missing something? Can that be changed after purchase?

I've started from nationalrail.co.uk and then gone to raileasy, eastcoast, and one other one that I can't remember. This is for travel a month out so I'd think there would be some options.

Any tips for this novice appreciated.

ron Jun 22nd, 2011 07:07 PM

I have been travelling to the UK regularly for 15 years or so, making many train journeys, and can't remember ever being given the option of selecting specific seats. You do get options like the table seats or airline seats, quiet carriages, things like.

It seems to me that, if you're booking as a group, they are going to seat you together, if that is possible. Especially if 2 of the tickets are for children.

If you are not comfortable trusting them to do that, suggest you make the booking by phone.

PalenQ Jun 22nd, 2011 07:26 PM

try also www.thetrainline.co.uk

PatrickLondon Jun 22nd, 2011 08:28 PM

It'll vary, service by service, whether you even need a reservation. I've always assumed the "default" mode is that you buy your ticket, and just find a seat when you get on the train: I suppose there may be more "reservation required" services these days, but as far as I'm aware, only the Eurostar offers the opportunity of picking a specific seat or group of seats, airline-style.

flanneruk Jun 22nd, 2011 09:33 PM