Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Should I pre-book trains for Edinburgh/London? (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/should-i-pre-book-trains-for-edinburgh-london-892399/)

Duda_Radulovic May 26th, 2011 02:51 AM

Should I pre-book trains for Edinburgh/London?

I am planning on doing several day trips from Edinburgh and London to places such as Glasgow, Stirling, Oxford and Bath. I am also taking a train from Edinburgh to Coventry to visit a friend before taking a bus on to London. Should I pre-book these tickets? Would a britrail pass be useful? I am a student so I get a 20% discount on the pass. I calculated and it would save some money if I got the 4 travel days in one month full Britain pass. Until I realized that you have to pay a 25 pound reservation fee for each train you want reserve. Should I just get the pass and not reserve? Or buy the tickets in advance and forget the pass? I have never used a rail pass before so I am a little sketchy on how they work. Any advice would be appreciated. Thank you!

alanRow May 26th, 2011 03:15 AM

Yes you should prebook, no you shouldn't get a Britrail pass. £25 reservation fees are nothing but a rip off especially as you can get from Edinburgh to London for less than that.

You could consider a 16-25 Railcard which gives one third off tickets.

Book tickets when the cheap ones are released which is a maximum of 12 weeks before date of travel. You can buy the railcard on arrival in the UK but you don't need it to book tickets, but you need it when you travel

Try websites like eastcoast.co.uk, crosscountry.co.uk, virgintrains.com and firstscotrail.com for bookings and 16-25railcard.co.uk for the railcard.

qwovadis May 26th, 2011 03:40 AM

seat61.com great info on this and pass

If u are going to train RELENTESSLY pass might make sense

Almost all lose on pass because they never train their