Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   short shorts in Paris (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/short-shorts-in-paris-47517/)

Clare Jun 30th, 1999 04:04 PM

short shorts in Paris

hi! I am a 15 year old student going to france for the first time. I will be with a bunch of other students and a chaperone. I was told that I am not allowed to wear short shorts. Instead I must wear bermuda shorts. Do people in paris really not wear short shorts? And please feel free to offer me any other advice. This is my first time on vacation without my faamily. Thanks!

Emily Jun 30th, 1999 04:39 PM

Hi Clare, <BR>You're not going to get arrested for wearing short shorts, but they may not be the most appropriate thing to wear. You may not be allowed in some restaurants or churches b/c it may be seen as a lack of respect. Do a text search on clothing/what to wear/how to dress, and you'll see similar questions that were posted in the past. <BR>Have fun, bring pictures of your family so you don't get too homesick!

Marty Jun 30th, 1999 05:20 PM

Clare: Check out the clothing posts, but very importantly--keep a journal. So much will happen, and, believe it or not, it will be hard to remember it all when you get home. Get all you can from the trip. I saw a lot of kids in Paris about 2 weeks ago with groups. Unfortunately, so many of them were paying no attention to what was going on around them. They may as well have been at home. They were just playing around, taking pictures at the wrong time, horse playing, etc. What you see and do will color so many things that you will see and do for the rest of your life. It will make a lot that will happen to you much later take on a much deeper meaning and understanding. "Art Appreciation" is so much different when you have seen the things that you will study first hand. Have lots and lots of fun!!

Teri Jun 30th, 1999 07:37 PM