Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Shipping wine from Italy to Massachusetts (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/shipping-wine-from-italy-to-massachusetts-1086546/)

cjr071 Feb 14th, 2016 07:28 AM

Shipping wine from Italy to Massachusetts

Hi there, I'm going to Italy in September 2016 and wondering if anyone knows the most recent updates with being able to ship wine from Italy to Massachusetts? I'm going to be traveling for a month and want to try and avoid having to carry wine in my luggage. Has anyone shipped recently to MA?

janisj Feb 14th, 2016 09:08 AM

It is now legal to direct ship wine from wineries to Massachusetts . . . but AFAIK only if the vineyard/winery is registered in MA.

I have no experience re Italy -- but belong to the wine club of a small local winery here in northern CA and they were saying they still couldn't ship to MA unless they pay to register there.

iris1745 Feb 14th, 2016 09:13 AM

Agree with janisj. While I do not know of the regulations, my daughter buys wine in the states and has it shipped to us in NH.

Dayle Feb 14th, 2016 09:16 AM

You might want to check shipping costs in advance. It's very expensive to ship to the US.

kvick Feb 14th, 2016 10:13 AM

Trying to do it yourself can be a complicated and risky hassle. Ask if the seller has ever shipped to the US before, and if they will ship for you. It won't be cheap, and you should be certain it will be shipped when the weather won't be too hot.
If the seller can't do it, it's sad, but you'd be wise to stick to what you can carry in your luggage.

HappyTrvlr Feb 14th, 2016 10:27 AM

A winery in Chianti region shipped a case of tneir wine to us via the shipper Mail Boxes etc. Shipping costs equaled the cost of the wine. Paying for an extea piece of luggage on your flight home would be cheaper.

StCirq Feb 14th, 2016 10:41 AM