Search

Coffee

Search this Thread

Old Aug 7th, 2014, 11:30 AM
joy
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Coffee

What is the French and Italian secret for making coffee? I once looked all over a small hotel in southern Italy for the lovely young man who made me a cup before all the other guests had awakened. In both these countries I have usually fortunate enough to find lodgings where breakfast is included. If not, I spent many euros for 2nd, 3re, 4th cups of coffee. Their coffee is truly devine. It tastes like fresh ground coffee smells.
Joy
Old Aug 7th, 2014, 11:33 AM

joy--

I would say (with tongue only partly in cheek) that the secret is that you're drinking it while on vacation in France and Italy.
Old Aug 7th, 2014, 11:36 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
I totally agree with the above "answer."
Old Aug 7th, 2014, 11:47 AM

Coffee is a very complicated issue, and I am no expert. There are many variables involved, far too many to elaborate on here. It is probable that the coffee you got in Italy is quite different from the coffee you get at home, and more to your liking. The "secret"? Different beans, probably a longer roast, quite possibly fresher, beans ground immediately before brewing, getting the temperature of the water right...
Old Aug 7th, 2014, 11:48 AM

Received 6 Likes on 1 Post
Just about all of the coffee is freshly ground, and I'm sure it makes a big difference. In any café, they grind the coffee beans only when you order it. And even the automatic machines in offices or train stations or at autoroute rest stops grind the beans only when you push the button (my sister-in-law wants to stop at every rest stop because she loves the coffee so much).

Nevertheless, most Australian visitors seem to find the coffee horrible because it is not brewed to Australian tastes.
Old Aug 7th, 2014, 11:49 AM

Oh, it should be mentioned that absolutely all of the coffee machines in cafés or the coin machines elsewhere are made exclusively in Italy.