Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Scotland---Attractive cities with lower cost of living AND jobs?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 14th, 2005, 11:58 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello,

I'm researching moving to the UK from the US early next year. I have an EU passport and will have a degree in history in hand. I have some work experience as a tutor, waiter, receptionist/secretary, assistant editor for a college alumni magazine, bank teller, and museum guide.

I'm looking for an entry-level job that pays at least (hopefully) 9 pounds an hour. I plan to go to grad school there in a couple years or so and then continue with my career.

I have a general question---what Scottish cities have a relatively lower cost of living whilst also having a decent job market? Edinburgh is very expensive; it would seem to be very hard to live close to the center, and I don't expect to be driving a car for several years.

I don't know enough about other cities like Aberdeen, Inverness, and Glasgow to tell (only visited as a tourist).

Basically I don't want to arrive in Scotland and spend months looking for a job---I won't be bringing that much money with me---so a compromise between lower cost of living and available vacancies would be a good idea.

Thanks!
Old Jun 15th, 2005, 12:43 AM

Aberdeen can also be expensive, especially in the city centre, as can Glasgow. Being form the southwest myself, I would tend to look at Dumfries, Ayr, or Kilmarnock. All of them towns rather than cities, very pleasant places, with a reasonable cost of living. You may find a job on campus at Dumfries, although temping may be esaier to start with.
If the southwest doesn't appeal, what about Dundee? Nice city, although i don't know it well enough to comment on the job market.
Old Jun 15th, 2005, 03:26 AM

I just got back from living in Edinburgh for 9 months.