Search

San Francisco - Europe for the first time

Search this Thread

Old Apr 8th, 2007, 12:07 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
San Francisco - Europe for the first time

Hello fellow travelers! I need help!
I'm a 36 year old single male, going solo to Europe for the first time and may I add that I'm a pro photographer.

I only have about 11 days (9 of actual travel) and I have decided to do VENICE ITALY, GENEVA area of SWITZERLAND, and PARIS FRANCE.

I know its a short trip but I'm thinking 3 days each and using the EURAIL TRAIN.

Fly into Italy, fly out of Paris

Questions...
#1 Which train systems are best?

#2 Any suggestions on each area?

#3 Is this a feasible plan?

Much Thanks,

Hov
Old Apr 8th, 2007, 06:27 AM

Received 50 Likes on 7 Posts
see the comments on your other thread . . . . .

(you just don't have time for 3 countries - you need to factor in losing 1/2 to 1 full day every time you check out and move to a new city)
Old Apr 8th, 2007, 06:36 AM

You can minimize the time lost to moving from place to place by taking the last train of the day to the next destination. In this way, your travel is during normal "down time" and hardly impacts your sightseeing at all.

The TGV from Geneva to Paris, for example, only takes about 3½ hours. You can leave at 19:23 after a full day in Switzerland and arrive in Paris at 22:45.

There is no Eurail train. Each country has a national railway, which together sell transportation under the Eurailpass brand. But your itinerary as stated in no way justifies the cost of a pass. Unless you're going to travel a <u>lot</u> in each country, buy single tickets from the Italian and French railway sites, www.trenitalia.it and www.voyages-sncf.fr
Old Apr 8th, 2007, 07:02 AM

You may be better off financially buying point to point tickets rather than getting any sort of pass...and if you did the latter you would need one that covers all three countries.