Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Rome, Venice, Florence for two weeks in November with Grandpa (80y.o.) and Kids (10 & 12). Any tips appreciated!

Search

Rome, Venice, Florence for two weeks in November with Grandpa (80y.o.) and Kids (10 & 12). Any tips appreciated!

Search this Thread

Old Mar 4th, 2002, 05:07 PM
Angus

I am concerned about weather, crowds, museum hours, etc. I know it is much cheaper to go in the off-season, but is it ultimately worth it? Is everything closed, or only open a couple of days a week? Also, we rented a wheelchair for grandpa on the last trip (Paris and London) and it was a godsend. How wheelchair-friendly is Italy, though? Gramps is not wheelchair bound, but long walks or many stairs are out of the question. Thank you for any and all help!!

Old Mar 4th, 2002, 05:43 PM
sarah

I'm no expert, but I was in Florence in October, and still felt the Vespas on the narrow streets were life-threatening. I can't begin to imagine trying to negotiate those streets on foot or in a wheel chair during the summer tourist season. <BR><BR>More sites were open in October than one could possibly visit, especially in the cities. Lines will be shorter. Hours will be shorter, but long enough that you'll be tired by the time activities close. There will be less places for the kids to run around outdoors in November, but it sounds like you're sticking to the big cities, anyways. <BR><BR>I think you'll have a great time, but you will need to plan it and respect Grandpa's limitations. I went with my 78 year old mother and 10 yr old son to Paris in February - off season, as well. Earlier closures were no problem. My mom was pretty good, but she pooped out on us at Notre Dame and demanded we return to the hotel, so we didn't get to climb the stairs or see much of the cathedral. That sort of problem is more "life" seasonal, than "tourist" seasonal. Still, it is all well worth it for the experience and the memories! <B