Rome's Jewish Quarter

Old Oct 22nd, 2007, 11:05 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rome's Jewish Quarter

I want to include this in our upcoming trip to Rome. I've read about good restaurants there, serving different dishes than are found elsewhere in the city. The history sounds interesting, too.

But where IS the Jewish Quarter? I can't find any indicators on my maps. Any help and/or suggested restaurants/walking tours will be greatly appreciated!
Old Oct 22nd, 2007, 11:11 AM

around campo Fiori???
Old Oct 22nd, 2007, 11:18 AM
LJ

Trastevere: lots of good walking tours of this area, just Google for more specific info.
Old Oct 22nd, 2007, 11:21 AM

Hi, I am no expert in Rome but I think the old
Jewish quater is around the Sinagoge which is located near Ponte Fabricio. In the general area where th Portico d'Ottavia is located.
Some years ago we had a love lunch in some tables set up outside, near the Portico d'Ottavia.
The restaurant name was Giggetto, I believe the food might have been Jewish, or Jewish Italian, anyway it was delicious. I remember we had
filet of cod dried in a flour batter. Well si non è vero è bien trovato....I am sure you are going to get better information from other Ziners than from me. But I could not resist talking about this nice place.
Old Oct 22nd, 2007, 11:26 AM

Sorry I meant fried cod...not dried....
also it was a lovely lunch.... Why don't I read my postings before sending them? I apologize.
Old Oct 22nd, 2007, 11:34 AM

A very general description of the areaouth of Corso Vittorrio Emanuele II, east of Via Arenula, west of Via del Teatro Marcello. (Which puts it just north of the Isola Tiberina, the island in the Tiber River)
Old Oct 22nd, 2007, 11:34 AM

don't know how I got that face when all I wanted was 'south'
Old Oct 22nd, 2007, 11:36 AM

Graziella is right, it is around Piazza Mattei (the square has a little turtle fountain in the middle and is quite picturesque). The synagogue is in Via del Portico d’Ottavia.