Search

Exchange rate

Search this Thread

Old May 13th, 2005, 06:17 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exchange rate

What exchange rates are people getting recently in Italy and here?
Old May 13th, 2005, 06:21 AM
rex

See www.xe.com - - these are the exchange rates between COUNTRIES tht settle trade balances in the billions of dollars and euros - - under the best of circumstances, your actual rate will be 1-2% worse than the published rates.

Best wishes,

Rex
Old May 13th, 2005, 08:50 PM
rex

topping...
Old May 14th, 2005, 04:07 AM

We just ordered Euros for our trip next week. We got a terrible rate 1.36:1, but it was the best we could find at the time. We hadn't expected to pay over 1.31. We checked with several banks (and yes we are customers at all of them) and it takes about 7 days for them to order them for you, so we didn't really have any "buffer" time.

As for why we ordered from a bank, this is my first time to Europe and I needed the comfort of having money in my pocket when we land. Yes, we will use ATM the rest of the time.
Old May 14th, 2005, 04:33 AM

Hi Marci!
It is very difficult for first-timers to Europe to understand just how easy it is get money there. It is just as easy as the USA, maybe even more so.
Getting euro ahead of time is certainly a convenience in that you can exit the plane, go through customs and get baggage, then hop in the taxi or train for downtown.
But there is no need to worry if you arrive there without a single euro in your pocket.
ATMs are everywhere, they work and they have English instructions should you choose the option.
In the very rare instance where ATMs are down, you can go to exchange windows or airport bank and exchange whatever USD you may have on you just to pay for the ride to downtown. Yes, the exchange rate will be disadvantageous at the airport, but it is probably still better than the rate you quoted.
Happy travels!
Old May 14th, 2005, 05:37 AM

Marci77 -