Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Residence La Tavolozza, Positano hotel one night deposit by mail (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/residence-la-tavolozza-positano-hotel-one-night-deposit-by-mail-763711/)

JJ625 Jan 26th, 2009 11:16 AM

Residence La Tavolozza, Positano hotel one night deposit by mail

I'm looking to book four nights at Residence La Tavolozza in Positano in September. This budget hotel is highly recommended by RS and Tripadvisor. The owners have asked me to send one night deposit by mail. I've never done this before. Please share your experience with sending a check (money order? certified check?) to Italy (by USPS, FedEx?). Thank you.

I've posted my question on the RS travelers' helpline as well.

ira Jan 26th, 2009 01:35 PM

Hi JJ,

Ask the proprietor if they will accept a check in dollars for the equivalent Euro amount + 15%.

You can then give them euro when you get there and they can give you your check back.

((I))

dcd Jan 26th, 2009 02:42 PM

JJ,

I'll be staying at Residence La Tavolozzo this May. I sent Francesca an email asking the specifics about this deposit and here is her reply:

"Don't worry you can send us a $120 personal check made out to Cobalto Francesca and if you cancel from 2 weeks before your arrival we'll cash it.
You'll pay the bill in Euros cash.
Our mailing address is:
Cobalto Francesca
La Tavolozza
Via C. Colombo 10
84017 Positano (SA)
Italy"

In other words, the deposit is simply to hold the room.

I, too, am looking forward to this B&B. Ira, it came down to this one versus your fav a little down the road.

JJ625 Jan 26th, 2009 04:14 PM

Thank you Ira and dcd for your quick response! I'll send Francesca an email about the personal check in USD and the best way to send it.

bxl4373 Jun 25th, 2009 06:40 AM