Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Researching Moving to UK (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/researching-moving-to-uk-489633/)

dgruzew Dec 7th, 2004 08:52 AM

Researching Moving to UK

Has anyone done any research or actually moved from the US to the UK. I have always wanted to live in Europe and have recently started looking in to it.
I was told recently that the UK currently has a very low unemployemnent rate and is opening doors to a few more foreigners. I dont know how accurate this is. But I did a search for jobs in london for people with my skill sets and there were TONS !!

I am a software engineer with about 8 years exp specializing in Financial applications (exp. Structured Fin, ABF , and other portfolio management). Does anyone know how difficult it is to find an employer willing to import an American?

Thanks

melr Dec 7th, 2004 09:37 AM

Hi,

You're right, unemployment is low here in the UK (about 2.7%) Nevertheless I believe you would still need to be sponsored by a UK company before you could relocate.

Another, possibly easier, method might be to get a job in the States with a multinational company with offices in the UK. You might then be able to move temporarily or permanently to the UK within that company.

Good luck.

BTilke Dec 7th, 2004 10:01 AM

It is unlikely that an employer would be willing to sponsor you unless your skills are truly unique AND in high demand. We just moved to the UK three days ago (after 5 years in Brussels and six months in Germany). I work in a high demand field and get many calls from UK headhunters, but even so, there were/are virtually no employers willing to go through the whole work permit hurdle. As an American married to a Canadian with Right to Abode, I have the right to work in the UK, the only reason I'm getting so many calls/emails.